On my old blog, I shared my experience of how Facebook reactivated my old account without my consent and how I found out about it. It was an account that I had not used in years and one that up until that moment about four or so years ago, I thought had been deleted into oblivion.
I detailed how disappointed I was because while I did not have anyone stalking me at the time, there are people who have deactivated accounts because they felt unsafe or because they needed a break for their health. Imagine doing that and then finding your account resurface later, despite your attempts to get it removed?
I removed the original post, primarily, but I noticed that quite a few of you have experienced similar things and were wondering how to get rid of the account yourself when we checked our analytics. As a result, despite it not really being on-brand to what we typically feature on our site, I wanted to provide this as an additional resource to you in hopes of helping those of you experiencing the same thing I experienced.
I’ll keep this post short because if you’re anything like how I was a few years ago, I was trying to find a deletion link – something Facebook doesn’t necessarily make easy for you because they don’t want you to leave their site. Here’s a link that I’ve found which will allow you to go to the page where you can delete your Facebook account.
After that you have a window of time where if you log back in they will refrain from deleting it, but once it’s gone, you don’t have to worry about it popping back up without your consent.
I hope this helps, but I also hope that Facebook does a better job at ensuring the safety of the people using it by respecting their wishes, giving them the full responsibility of reactivating if they choose to.
Has this happened to you?